Hazy Shade of Winter

Sunset in Indiana
I hope the first 19 days of 2015 have been wonderful for you.

For me, the days have been full. I have visited family in the Nashville area and had the chance to see some wonderful partners in ministry. I have been up to Indiana to WGM headquarters for some meetings and seen old friends (as I usually do when I am there). And last, but certainly not least, I have gained another new niece. She is beautiful and, unfortunately, in North Dakota. It may be a while before I get to see her in person, but we are pretty excited nonetheless.

Let’s take a look at some other things happening and being written about around the globe.

Boko Haram— remember those guys who kidnapped 200 school girls?–has not gone away. There are conflicting reports of how many people have been killed in recent weeks–Amnesty international is saying 2,000 and the Nigerian government is saying 150– but the fact remains that they are still an incredible threat and worth our attention.

Does Missions Separate Families? Sad and hopeful. Present reality meets the ultimate goal.

I made a New Year’s Resolution to be more intentional about my reading, and then I stumbled across Modern Mrs. Darcy’s Reading Challenge. I love it and am already halfway through Kay Bruner’s As Soon as I Fell, which falls into the category of “books I’ve been meaning to read.” It also falls into the category of “books that give me heartburn”, but it’s important and good and honest and sometimes a little too close to home and I need to hear it.

The Tuckaleechee Retreat Center in Tennessee has a cabin called Hemlock Haven that they offer to full-time Christian workers during the week for $40 a night. I am still looking for the missionary guesthouse with an ocean view, but until then, this one looks pretty nice.

Burlap to Cashmere has released another sneak peek into their upcoming album. I first heard them in middle school, playing on one of the smaller stages at the Ichthus Music festival here in Kentucky and they are still one of the only Christian bands I have really enjoyed over the years. I am very excited they are back together. You can also preorder their album (due to be released March 1) here.

IMG_2427

And, finally, take a few minutes (or the whole day) to remember why you are not at work or at school on a Monday.  Dr. King started something important and it’s not really finished. I am not sure where the next few years will take us as a country, but today, let’s take some time to remember. Watching the I Have a Dream Video or reading Letters from a Birmingham Jail- (part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7) would all be good places to start.

Leave a Reply

